THE HARTFORD COUNTY BAR ASSOCIATION



Law Day 2025

The Constitution enshrines our collective responsibility to one another, and the 2025 Law Day theme urges us to take pride in a Constitution that bridges our differences to bring us together as a united nation. Our civic lives tie us together as one "We," whether through legislative efforts that serve the common good, through military service, or by working together, every day, to fulfill the promise of E pluribus unum, or "Out of many, one."

Friday May 9, 2025 9:30 a.m. - 10:30 a.m.

Hartford Superior Court

95 Washington Street, Hartford CT



Hartford County Bar Association 100 Pearl Street, 4th floor Hartford, CT 06103

Phone: 860-525-8106 Fax: 860-293-1345 E-mail: hcba@hartfordbar.org

HBCA 2024-2025 OFFICERS

Michael T. McCormack, President
Moy N. Ogilvie, President-Elect
Meghan M. Burns, Treasurer
Allenston M. Sheridan, Jr., Secretary
John L. Laudati, Past President

2025 LAW DAY COMMITTEE

Honorable Nuala E. Droney, Co-Chairperson Jennifer E. Wheelock, Co-Chairperson

Ruth R. Fortune

Moy N. Ogilvie

Jamey Bell

Philip T. Markuszka, Scholarship, Co-Chairperson

Anne K. Zovas, Scholarship, Co-Chairperson

CENTER COURT CEREMONY

Hartford Superior Court 9:30 a.m.

OPEN COURT Honorable Nuala E. Droney

LAW DAY OFFICIALMoy N. Ogilvie, President-ElectPROCLAMATIONHartford County Bar Association

INTRODUCTION OF Jennifer E. Wheelock, Law Day Co-Chairperson and

LAW DAY SPEAKER HCBA Past President

2025 LIBERTY BELL AWARD

LAW DAY SPEAKER Attorney Natalie Braswell, General Counsel,

Office of the Governor, State of

Connecticut

PRESENTATION OF Presenter: Anne Zovas, Co-Chair,

2025 SCHOLARSHIP AWARD Philip T. Markuszka, Ćo-Chair HCBA Scholarship Committee

Recipient: Juan David Alvarado Lopez

Hartford Public High School Academy of Law & Government

PRESENTATION OF THE Presenter: Jamey Bell, Executive Director 2025 PRO BONO AWARD Giovanna Shav. Staff Attorney

Giovanna Shay, Staff Attorney Greater Hartford Legal Aid

Recipient: Attorney Elizabeth McMahon,

Law Offices of Elizabeth McMahon

PRESENTATION OF THE Presenter: Ruth R. Fortune, Member Law Day

Committee

Recipient: Connecticut Judicial Branch Civics

Academy

Award accepted by Attorney Melissa A. Farley, Executive Director, External Affairs Division, Connecticut Judicial Branch Attorney Emily A. Gianquinto, President-Elect, Connecticut Bar Association

CLOSING REMARKS Jennifer E. Wheelock, Law Day Co-Chairperson and

HCBA Past President

PLEASE JOIN US FOR COFFEE AND PASTRIES IMMEDIATELY FOLLOWING THE CEREMONY